Imprisoned!

The escapee is now safely behind bars. I am referring of course to a child safety gate, just in case you were wondering. After my last post, I started scouring local selling sites for safety gates, as the furniture barriers were not the safest when he tried using them to haul himself to his feet. I found 2 available for sale, within a few miles of each other, so I went to collect them today. Of course, this was not without drama.

The first gate was a fairly simple drive away. I pulled up in front of the house, knocked on the door and the lady said the gate was in her car. I stepped backwards to let her lead the way to the car, and stood on something…unusual. There was a screech of indignation and a black cat shot away. I apologised profusely to the owner, while the cat crouched behind a fence giving me an evil glare. I have never stood on a cat before, but apparently this cat likes sitting behind people, and hasn’t learned that that is a good way to get trodden on. The cat seemed fine, if a little disgruntled, I collected my gate and was on my way.

The second house was slightly harder to find, and it didn’t help that I couldn’t see any house numbers, so I was driving down the road at a snail’s pace, with a lady driving right up behind me. I found the house, rang the bell and was greeting by a lot of barking. The man opened the door and the smell of dog hit me. Don’t get me wrong, I like dogs, and my house doesn’t smell of roses, but this was quite strong. He then insisted on showing me all the parts and how the gate worked. I was holding onto it giving gentle tugs while saying ‘Yes, great, thank you’. I got away, went to the back of the car to open the boot and noticed an even more unpleasant smell. I had parked over a drain, and a very drainy smell was wafting out of it.

When I got home I cracked open the disinfectant and gave the gates a clean. T was exploring the kitchen as I was on the back step, and he was practicing opening and closing a cupboard door. I cringed a bit as I realised the cupboard he had chosen was the one with the alcohol in it. The last thing I needed was for him to grab a bottle and break it, spilling all the…. I mean possibly hurting himself. Door locks are the next job on the list. At least fitting the gates wasn’t such a hard job, though it did highlight once again the fact that no walls or door frames in this house are straight. I think whoever built it had a wonky eye or something. Wallpapering our bedroom was an experience I never wish to repeat.

Now where did I put the box of childproofing stuff?

Leave a Reply

