Pancake Day

SONY DSC

Ok, so I know it’s not for a few days yet, but it pays to be prepared. Here are a few of my favourite batter recipes. (All serve 2, generous portions)

Basic Pancake Batter (also great for Toad-in-the-Hole)

4 oz plain flour

1 egg

1/2 pt liquid (2/3 milk, 1/3 water)

Put the flour in a bowl, break in the egg and begin to mix, slowly adding the milk/water until it forms a smooth batter. Keep adding the liquid until it’s all used up, beating well all the time. You can use it straight away, or let it stand for a while, it’s up to you!

Eggless Pancake Batter

I discovered this one the other day, when I wanted to make toad-in-the-hole but had no eggs. This is often considered the vegan alternative, as you are supposed to use soy milk. I think this works just as well as the basic recipe above. I found the original recipe here and have converted it to imperial, and halved it. I orginally made the full recipe, realised I had way too much, and left half in the fridge. I made pancakes with the left-over batter the next day and it worked really well. I have since made pancakes with fresh batter and found it didn’t work so well. So the moral of the story is, it keeps fine for 24-48 hours, and it’s probably best to let it stand if you’re making pancakes!

1.5 oz melted butter

5 oz plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 pt milk

Put the flour and baking powder in a bowl, add the butter and a little milk until it forms a smooth batter, then slowly add the rest of the milk, beating well.

Cornmeal Pancakes

My cousin introduced me to this recipe, and I LOVE it for making drop pancakes. In fact, I love it so much I have the recipe stuck to my jar of cornmeal. In the UK, this is called polenta, and can be found in the supermarket with the lentils and pulses. I’m afraid the recipe I have is in cups, if anyone has a problem with this, let me know and I’ll try and convert it for you!

2/3 cup plain flour

1/3 cup cornmeal

2 tsp baking powder

1 egg

2/3 cup milk

1/8 cup oil

As previous recipes, put the dry ingredients in a bowl, and slowly add the liquid, mixing well the whole time. Beat thoroughly before cooking.

Happy flipping!!

Leave a Reply

