Chuck-it-all-in Spaghetti Bolognese

SONY DSC

Hi all, long time no see I’m afraid. Anyway, here is our tea from a couple of nights ago. Every time I make bolognese there is some variation, but the basic components are always minced beef, onion and tomato sauce/tinned tomatoes. I also like to put carrots in if I have any. Well, I jazzed it up even more this time.

Serves 4

1 pack minced beef (about 500g)

1 onion, diced

1 bell pepper, roughly chopped

2 medium carrots, roughly chopped

1 tin chopped tomatoes

italian herb seasoning

a few handfuls of baby spinach

Start off by browning the mince in a large pan (I nearly typed ‘mice’, that would make for an interesting recipe!), and add the onion, softening it up. Once the mince is browned, add the pepper, carrots, tomatoes and a good shake of herbs. Cook over medium heat for 20 – 30 minutes, or until the carrots are softened. Add in the spinach, and cook for about 5 minutes to let it wilt. Serve over spaghetti.

You can really go to town with vegetables in a bolognese, courgettes or squash would also work well. You can even leave out the meat altogether if the fancy takes you!

Leave a comment