Perfect Roast Potatoes

SONY DSC

As I had the day off yesterday, I decided to use that time to make a roast chicken dinner. Usually I cheat by throwing the chicken in the slow cooker, par-boiling the potatoes and preparing the veg before I go to work, then when I get home, I roast the potatoes and cook the veg and voila, a chicken dinner, after a fashion. Yesterday I had the time to oven cook the chicken, and roast the potatoes properly. My roasties are generally hit and miss, sometimes they are great, other times they are still hard in the middle. I did a bit of research, some experimentation, made my hubby eat the experiment… His conclusion? ‘Pretty good!’

Peel the potatoes and cut into halves or quarters, depending on how big they are. Put in a pan of slightly salted water, bring to the boil, and boil for 5 – 7 minutes. While they are cooking, prepare the baking tray. If you happen to have some sitting around, use goose fat; for us normal people, regular oil will suffice. Put about 2 tbsp oil in the tray and pop at the top of the oven at 190ºC – 200ºC.

Once the potatoes have boiled, don’t let them sit in the water; try and drain them straight away into a colander. Give them a minute or two to cool, and then shake them about a bit to rough them up. The roughened edges will absorb the oil and make them crispier. Dust them lightly with some flour (any flour will do, I used bread flour as I had it out at the time!) and then put them in the hot baking tray. Be careful not to splash, hot oil hurts! Shake them around a little, or turn them over, just make sure they are well coated with oil. They need about 1 hour in the oven, turn them every 15 minutes to get a nice even finish.

They were the best potatoes I’ve made in a long time 🙂 Keep your eyes peeled for more posts in the near future, I am currently making a chicken pie with the left-over chicken, and remember you can always make stock from the carcass.

Leave a Reply

