Red Sky At Night

The following is an example of a normal evening in our house.

I came in from work, stuck my head round the door to say hello to Hubby, and he asked what was for tea. I said there was a Shepherd’s Pie in the oven. He seemed happy, it meant he could stay at his football game for a while longer while I went for a shower. Later, I had showered, and he was standing in the kitchen while I got ready to dish up. I pulled the pie out of the oven, and heard this ‘Oh!’. Now ‘oh’ can mean anything, but this was a very disappointed ‘oh’. I looked round at his poor disappointed face, and the conversation went like this:

Me: What’s wrong?

Him: When you said Shepherd’s Pie, I was thinking Lasagne!

Me: Oh, sorry, nope, this is Shepherd’s Pie.

(A pause)

Him: I’ve been thinking about that quite a bit this week.

Me: What, lasagne?

Him: No, you know that saying. Red sky in the morning, shepherd’s warning. Red sky at night, shepherd’s pie.

Me: Yes dear, past your bed-time I think!

Leave a Reply

