Pork, Rice & Bean One-pot

I’m afraid that there is no picture for this one, however, it is a quick and tasty meal that I thought I’d share. We have a big bag of pork chops in the freezer. Usually I slow-cook them with apples and onions, but I was getting a bit bored of that, so I searched all my recipes and recipe books for something a bit different. This is from an old American cook-book my Mum got for me from a charity shop, that occasionally has these amazing gems in. Here’s how it goes:

4 pork chops

1/2 small onion, diced

4 oz rice

1 can kidney beans, drained

salt, pepper, cayenne & garlic to taste

3/4 pt water

Brown the chops in a frying pan, I’d say about 2 minutes each side. Lift them out and put them on some paper towel to drain the fat off. In a large, heavy bottomed pan (pressure cooker works well!) mix the remaining ingredients, then place the chops on top. Bring to the boil, stir, cover and lower the heat. Cook for 20 – 25 minutes, or until the rice is cooked and most of the liquid is absorbed.

There you have it, the rice has the most amazing flavour from the seasoning and the pork. As this is a 4-portion meal, we had leftovers, so I chopped the pork into chunks, added chunks of pineapple, and a little water, heated it all in a saucepan and served. Yummy 🙂 Just as good 2nd time around!

Leave a Reply

