Yummy Apple & Raisin Tart

SONY DSC

 

On Sunday night I realised I had a couple of apples that looked about 90 years old, so I decided I would use them in some form of baking. Exactly what, I had no idea. Then yesterday morning, at work, while feeling hungry and staring at sheep’s backsides, I had some inspiration. (It’s amazing how inspired I can be about food when I’m hungry. And milking sheep.) I really fancied something sweet and sticky with apple and cinnamon. And I was so hungry I wanted it NOW! But I had to wait. As soon as I was home, breakfasted and actually had some clean cooking utensils (I really need a personal pot washer, Hubby doesn’t seem to want the job) I got started. This was all purely experimental, I knew what I wanted to end up with, I just wasn’t sure how to get there. It worked out really well though, so here’s how I did it.

I started out with a batch of pastry. My flan dish is not huge, so if you have a bigger dish, just remember half fat to flour and make a slightly bigger batch.

6 oz plain flour

3 oz margarine

a little cold water

Rub the margarine into the flour, and then add water a little at a time until it all binds together in a ball. I like to wrap pastry in cling film and put it in the fridge to chill it before I use it, so I just left it in there for as long as it took me to make the filling. When your filling is ready, line a flan dish with the pastry and sprinkle a little flour, cornflour or rice flour over the pastry to help stop it going soggy.

4 – 5 apples (based on medium sized apples)

a generous handful of raisins

4 – 5 tbsp water

Peel, core and slice the apples, then pop them in a saucepan with the raisins. Add the water and heat on medium heat for about 10 minutes, until the apples are soft. I wanted them to hold their shape, so I didn’t want them too mushy. Drain the water off and arrange the fruit in your pastry-lined dish.

4 tbsp sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

Mix the sugar and cinnamon together and sprinkle it all over the top of the fruit. Bake at 200°C for 15 – 20 minutes, until the pastry is cooked and the sugar has melted. Allow it to cool slightly, then serve warm with cream or ice cream.

*This is best eaten straight away as the syrup makes the pastry soggy if you leave it too long!
Leave a Reply

