Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

SONY DSC

 

First, let me say this. Please don’t be put off by the name of this cake. Yes, it contains mayonnaise, but it is in no way disgusting. The mayonnaise is basically a substitute for eggs and fat. This is great if you have run out of eggs but still happen to have mayonnaise on hand.

This cake has made my mum famous. Everyone who has ever tasted it never forgets it, it really is that good. I have tried making every ‘INCREDIBLE, AMAZING, NEVER HAVE YOU TASTED ANYTHING AS GOOD AS THIS’ chocolate cake recipe I have come across, and they have all left me feeling cheated. In my humble opinion, this is the best chocolate cake in the world. It really doesn’t get better than this. If you beg to differ, please let me know and I will willing try your recipe!

As children, it was a tradition in our house that the birthday child could choose the evening meal and the type of cake/dessert they wanted. From pre-teen until the time I left home (and at least one occasion since) this has been the only acceptable birthday cake for me. I think by my late teens Mum never even bothered asking, I just got this cake every birthday. I have to admit, despite having had a reasonable amount of practice making it, Mum’s still tastes better.

After all this bigging up, you’re probably getting impatient to try it, and thinking ‘Come on then, give me the recipe!’ Well wait no longer, here it is.

10 oz self raising flour

8 oz sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

7 oz mayonnaise

4 tbsp cocoa powder

8 fl oz boiling water

1 tsp vanilla essence

Mix the dry ingredients and the mayonnaise together well. It will be a bit lumpy, but persevere. Dissolve the cocoa powder in the boiling water and add the vanilla, then add to the rest of the mixture. I find it best to add this a little at a time, mixing really well between additions. Pour it into a lined 8-inch tin and bake at 180°C for 30 – 40 minutes, or until cooked in the middle.

Allow it to cool well before icing.

2 tsp instant coffee

2 tbsp cocoa powder

2 tbsp hot water

3 oz margarine

8 oz icing sugar

Dissolve the coffee and cocoa in the hot water. Cream together the margarine and icing sugar. Add the coffee/cocoa mixture and mix well. Spread over the top of the cake. Now tell me this is the best cake in the world!

*If you don’t like coffee, no problem, just leave it out of the icing.

*This works really well as individual cupcakes too!

One thought on “Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

  1. trialsinfood says:

    looks delish! how lucky that you were always able to have it on your birthday growing up!

Leave a Reply

