Ready-to-go Chicken Stock

Good morning everyone, still enjoying this amazing weather, no rain for a week and temperatures in the low 20’s every day!! I may actually get a worthwhile tan this year 😀

Anyways, here’s a handy tip for you. Whenever I roast or slow-cook a whole chicken, I save the carcass to make stock. If you’re pushed for time this can be done in stages, and doesn’t all have to be done immediately. Put the carcass in a large pan (I like my pressure-cooker pan for this), cover with boiling water, bring to the boil and then turn down to low heat and simmer for about 2 hours. Allow to cool slightly, then sieve the stock into a large bowl. Throw away the bones and let the stock cool. I usually end up popping it in the fridge and leaving it overnight. Once it’s cold, skim off the majority of the fat and bag it up in freezer bags. I measure out 1/2 pint portions as I find it’s ideal for most recipes. Freeze, and you have ready-made chicken stock ice cubes! When I want to use one, I just cut the bag away and put it straight into the slow cooker or saucepan where it will melt as it cooks.

2 thoughts on “Ready-to-go Chicken Stock

  1. […] It’s entirely up to you how you cook the chicken, I roasted it, but you could boil or slow cook it if you so wished. This is something that can be done ahead, I cooked it and picked it the day before I put the lasagne together. Make sure the chicken is cooked through, let it cool and then pick off all the meat and cut into bite-sized pieces. You can save the carcass for making stock. […]

  2. […] I am currently making a chicken pie with the left-over chicken, and remember you can always make stock from the […]

Leave a Reply

