Lemon Blueberry Loaf

122_2703

Last week I bought a packet of blueberries because they were reduced due to having reached their sell-by-date. I have kept them in the fridge for 7 days and when I sorted through them today I found one that had gone bad. One! And they would have been thrown out a week ago! Sorry, Hubby confiscated my soap box a couple of days ago when I went on a rant about something else. Anyway, at risk of the rest going bad, I decided I had better get on and use them. And what better way to use up blueberries than in a Lemon Blueberry Loaf? Answers on a postcard please.

1/2 cup (4 oz) butter

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup milk

1 1/2 cups plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tbsp lemon zest

1 cup blueberries

Cream the butter and sugar together in a bowl, beat in the eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla. Now add the flour and baking powder in three batches, alternating with the milk. Add the lemon zest and mix well. Fold in the blueberries (if you have a problem with them sinking once cooked, toss them in a bit of the flour before adding) and scrape the mixture into a lined loaf tin. Bake at 180°C for an hour, or until fully cooked.

2 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp lemon juice

Mix glaze ingredients together and cook either on medium heat in a saucepan, or for about 20 seconds in the microwave, until sugar has dissolved. When the loaf comes out of the oven, pierce the top with a toothpick (a fork would work) and spoon the glaze over the top, letting it all soak in. Let it cool for about half an hour before removing it from the tin and cooling it completely. Best served while it’s still warm, but cold is good too.

*Cook’s notes: I was a bit slap-dash with this today, as I couldn’t be bothered with too much measuring, but it still turned out extremely well. One of my eggs happened to be a double-yolker, and I just zested about half a lemon straight into the bowl. I also over-vanillaed, as there was only a teensy weensy bit (ok, half a teaspoon) left in the bottle. When you bake, just relax and have fun, it usually turns out well!
Leave a Reply

