Sour Cream Substitute

I don’t usually keep sour cream to hand, I just buy it in if I plan a recipe that needs it. But every now and then I come across a recipe that I really can’t wait to try, so postponing it until I get into town to buy sour cream is not an option. I came across a substitute that is fine for baking with, but which you wouldn’t really want to use as a dip or side dish. (I apologise for my grammar, I’m not fully concentrating!) You need a container with a lid, I favour a jam jar, but a bottle would work too. Put 1/2 pint (1 cup) of milk and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice in the jar, put the lid on and give it a good shake. I try and make this at least an hour before I use it to give it time to react, but when it starts to curdle and thicken it’s good to go. I don’t know what the shelf life is, I always use it the day I make it. At the end of the day I’m not too worried if I have to throw a bit of it out, it’s only milk! If it’s left to stand a while it will separate and look kinda gross, but just give it a good shake. And there you have it, cheap, simple, and great for things like Lemon Cupcakes, Sour Cream Scones or Crazy Crust Chili Pie.

Leave a Reply

