Country Chicken Casserole with Sour Cream Scones

Image

First of all, I would like to apologise for this picture. I am not a professional photographer as I’m sure you can tell.  A girl can’t be good at everything!

This is what we had for tea last night. A slow cooker favourite, it doesn’t require much preparation so it’s pretty quick and easy. Here goes.

1 large onion, finely sliced

2 carrots, peeled and cut into strips

8  oz bobby beans, cut into 1-2 inch lengths

* 1/2 pepper (not necessary, I just needed to use it up and found it really added to the flavour)

4 chicken portions (I use breast, but thigh will work just as well)

10 fl oz chicken stock

Fry the onion in a little oil. I treated myself to a cast iron skillet and this was the first time I used it, I don’t know why I didn’t get one sooner! (I also treated myself to some books, but shhhhh!) Prepare the vegetables and put them in the slow cooker. Once the onions are browned, add them to the slow cooker and brown the chicken in the pan for about 5 minutes. When the chicken is done, place it on top of the vegetables and onion, pour in the chicken stock, and cook on low for 4-6 hours. This can be served with mashed potato, but my current favourite accompaniment to casseroles and stews are buttermilk biscuits. Unfortunately, I had no buttermilk, but I did have some sour cream left over, so I made sour cream scones instead.

8 oz plain flour

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp salt

2 oz butter

5-6 fl oz sour cream

Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl and cut/rub in the butter until it looks like fine breadcrumbs. Stir in enough sour cream to make is hold together in a ball. Turn out onto a floured surface and gently knead for 30 seconds. Pat it out to about 1/2 inch thick and cut out using a cookie cutter. (I used a small cutter, about 2 inches diameter, you could cut into squares or triangles if you wanted.) Place them on an ungreased baking sheet and bake for 12 – 15 minutes at 230°C. As soon as they come out the oven, split and butter them. Serve immediately.

The great thing about scones or biscuits is that you can bake up a batch and freeze any extra. When you want to use them you can pop them straight into a warm oven from frozen for about 20 minutes, either on a baking sheet or wrapped in a tea towel (don’t burn the towel, I speak from experience!)

Leave a Reply

